Are you paying less taxes now than six years ago?

Lou Magazzu cuts taxesTom Sheppard made an interesting statement at the candidate’s forum last Wednesday evening in Millville.

First a little background. Every candidate was requested by Millville First, the hosts of the forum, to refrain from bringing political literature.

Of course every candidate complied – well every candidate save one. Lou Magazzu in his typical manner assumed that the rules did not apply to him. He littered the auditorium with papers filled with numbers, proving in his own words that he had lowered taxes the lowest they were in 40 years!

This graph is an example of one homeowner’s lowered taxes. Since 2001, this taxpayer has had his Cumberland County property taxes almost double!

So, back to the story. Sheppard challenged everyone in the auditorium to check their own county taxes for the past six years. If they determined that they were in fact paying less now than they were six years ago, Tom implored them to vote for Magazzu and company. I promise you that if you reside in Cumberland County, your property taxes have increased. If you find that your taxes have decreased, PLEASE by all means contact us.

5 Responses to Are you paying less taxes now than six years ago?

  1. Sell me a bridge says:

    First, if all the candidates were asked not to bring in literature, then why was Magazzu allowed to distribute it?

    Second, I can safely say my taxes have not gone down. I am definitely paying more than I was a couple of years ago.

    Third, since he keeps claiming taxes have gone down is it possible that Magazzu could post his personal property tax bills for the last five years on this blog to back up his claim?

    I think number 3 above is a reasonable request given that he keeps saying taxes have gone down. That would be the proof I’ve been waiting to see.

  2. biggassbass says:

    Lou just is a big blowhard that acts like the rules do not apply to him. If folks could see videos of him acting like a jerk, he might lose this race

  3. DUMP the Maggot says:

    Uhhhhh bass, that would be EVERY time he opens his mouth. Lou sounds like a tenor warming up …..me me me me me meeeeeeeee

  4. biggassbass says:

    Go to YouTUBE and see him threaten someone on film
    Do a search and you might still find it

  5. fancypants says:

    I’m sorry to say I am paying fewer taxes now ! Unfortunately it’s because I lost my job and had to sell my house but, Hey, we have all of this Federal Stimulus money flowing….hey wait a minuit…

Leave a Reply

