CEZ? Huh?

In the ben column today there was an interesting exchange:

“Enough is enough!
“I have read and talked to many about Mr. Magazzu’s latest financial fiasco, the veterans chapel.
“I am 100 percent for our vets, who we all should hold in the highest esteem.
“Anything to help our vets, I am all for.
“But really, a chapel?
“Is Mr. Magazzu looking for votes from our veterans, perhaps?
“Mr. Magazzu, your job is to do the will of the majority of the taxpayers and not your will, since you are not a property taxpayer (anymore).
“Is Mr. Magazzu aware of the economy?
“Aware that many have lost jobs?
“That many are barely keeping their head above water?
“And, yet, he so foolishly again wastes our money on plans to the tune of almost $70,000 for a chapel we cannot afford and, truthfully, is not needed.
“We pay the highest property taxes in the United States.
“Our municipal and county officials are out of control.
“Is this what the Democrats stand for?
“Yes, the tax-and-spend Democrats.
“I am not a Democrat, nor am I a Republican.
“I am smarter than that.
“I vote for the person and their stand on policies. I am an Independent. I think for myself.
“With that said, I will voice my opinion and state that, as a property taxpayer, I see absolutely no need for a chapel.
“I have spoken to several vets who feel the same.
“Cumberland County is the poorest county in the state.
“With Mr. Magazzu and Democrats in charge, is it no wonder?
“Mr. Magazzu does not think things through, obviously.
“Has he even thought of the cost to us, the taxpayers?
“The maintenance?
“Vandalism costs?
“Heating/cooling/electric?
“This will be an ongoing expense with no end. …
“You were not elected — which I still cannot comprehend — to make decisions and go against the will of the taxpayers.
“Listen to the people.
— G. Ward

Well, at least your signed the letter.
Lou Magazzu is a very bright man and, unlike many who have served this county, is a leader, not a follower.
He brought to us the Cumberland Empowerment Zone.
He has taken us through many tough times with innovative ideas.
Let’s keep the chapel proposal on its own merits.
Will you say the same about Bill Whelan when he wears the mantel of county leader?
Those who do nothing are neither hated or loved, but do us all a disservice.

We will see the merits of the CEZ when the state attorney general is done investigating….

6 Responses to CEZ? Huh?

  1. Sunshine says:

    I wouldn’t hold your breath waiting for that to happen.

  2. Hang 'em High says:

    Lou would throw one of his famous temper tantrums and carry on until he gets his way.

    Sunshine is right.

  3. JamesRSauro` says:

    First. Lou Magazzu is not responsible for having the Empowerment Zone brought to Cumberland County.

    Second. It was not that successful. Unless you are talking about the people who got the loans and didn’t have to pay it back.

    Third. I’m still waiting for someone to show me anything Lou Magazzu has done good for the county.

    Raising taxes, Laying off people, Voting for the Social services contract, and lying to the public doesn’t count.

  4. Hang 'em High says:

    Jim

    Once again, I find my self in full agreement with your post.

    You did forget to mention the nice fat salaries the Empowerment Zone Director made….

  5. Packrat says:

    We’re very fortunate to have Lou. He is dedicated, hard working and many counties would greatly appreciate having this one working in their behalf. If he walked on your toes, sorry. Grow a skin would be my recommendation.

  6. Packrat says:

    Bill W. will be a great one. No BS about him and he is close with the dollar. Cripes, he’s got a gazzilion kids, so knows from a budget. There is no leadership on the newbees including the farmer. Let’s visit the farmer and check most of his employees where English is not spoken. Know what I mean Vern?

Leave a Reply

